In English


Gothenburg International Chamber Music Festival

Frontside Light-Let the music sound!

“Why start a music festival?”

“Because it’s a joy!”

Bob Kelly, initiator

Frontside Festival 2022 – Southerly Winds

Information in English coming soon. Stay tuned!

Participating artists 2022

Francisco Coll

Francisco Coll

Quickly establishing an international profile, Francisco Coll is a composer who pushes music to extremes. Surreal juxtapositions, febrile energy, and echoes of flamenco all abound in works of vivid, often unsettling, poetry.

Jacob Kellerman

Jacob Kellerman

ENG Jakob

Ron Davis Alvarez & The Dream Orchestra

Ron Davis Alvarez & The Dream Orchestra

ENG Dream Orchestra och Ron Alvarez ENG


2019, 2020 & 2022, 2023

During the first four years of the festival, we want to turn our spyglass to each of the four cardinal directions in turn outgoing from the harbour city Gothenburgs strategic location at the sea.With the first theme 2019, M/S Transatlantic, our gaze swung westwards. A red thread of American and American-inspired music ran through the festival. Inspiration came from the big ocean liners that carried emigrants to the United States in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The theme also connected with today’s situation, when people are forced to become refugees and to create new lives for themselves in foreign lands. As final piece all artists and the Dream Orchestra with young refugees met in Terry Riley famous piece in C.

In 2020 the theme was Eastward. The note struck was now the Swedish East India Company’s voyages to Asia in the eighteenth century. During the festival, there where both old and new music by European and Asian composers who in various ways have influenced each other.

Swedish Radio P2 was there. Listen here

In 2022 FRONTSIDE will be carried by a warm breeze southward to the theme of Southerly Winds. Here we will fetch inspiration from Italy, Portugal, Spain and South America.

Because of the pandemic will Gothenburg celebrate its fourth centenary in 2023. FRONTSIDE will also postpone the complete programme Direction 57° North that would have been presented 2021. 2023 we will present music by composers from Gothenburg, but also music from countries that have strongly affected the development of Gothenburg, such as Holland, Germany, Scotland and England.

How it started

After clarinetist Karin Dornbusch had successfully led the Båstad Chamber Music Festival for twelve years, she was contacted by entrepreneur Bob Kelly, who proposed creating an international chamber music festival at the art gallery Röda Sten Konsthall in Gothenburg. A committee was formed with the well-known musicians Paula af Malmborg Ward, Daniel Berg and Tobias Granmo among others. After a year of intensive work, FRONTSIDE – Gothenburg International Chamber Music Festival – was inaugurated in January 2019 with innovative concert programmes in exciting surroundings. There was art music from different periods; well-known pieces and all-new compositions alternated with folk music and free improvisation. Young and old mixed both on stage and in the audience. People listened, watched, chatted and made new discoveries. The ship was launched!

One of the purposes of the festival is to demonstrate what a broad range of music there exists within the chamber format. Moreover, we wish to cultivate the great tradition of Western music while at the same time supporting creativity and artistic innovation. The most important purpose of the festival, however, is to offer enjoyment to people of different generations and from different countries. We want to enrich life with music from near and far, and with the aid of music help to build bridges between people. A festival For Open Minds!

The Board

Karin Dornbusch, Clarinetist and Artistic Director
Bengt-Ove Boström, Chairman of the board
Anne-Lie Humnmel Högblom – Head of finance and production
Caisa Hanserud, Secretary of the board
Tobias Granmo, Violinist and Commissioner​
Marielle Korend Larsson, Head of Pr / communications and security


+46 70 868 37 46

Den här hemsidan använder cookies. Genom att fortsätta använda sidan godkänner du vår användning av cookies.   Lär dig mer